Two More Keynote Speakers Confirmed

Dr. Kurt Bryan from the Department of Mathematics, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology and Dr. Mark Lundstrom, Don and Carol Scifres Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Purdue University have kindly agreed to give keynote talks at this year’s CSESC.

Professor Kurt Bryan received a B.A. (1984) from Reed College and Ph.D. (1990)  from the University of Washington. While pursuing his doctorate degree he worked at Blount Industries, as a statistician/mathematician and later had a post-doc at the Institute for Computer Applications in Science and Engineering, NASA Langley Research Center, before coming to Rose in 1993. He is interested in mathematical models and inversion algorithms for non-destructive testing of materials using electromagnetic and thermal methods. You can find out more about Professor Bryan through his Home Page.

Mark Lundstrom is the Don and Carol Scifres Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University. He earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Minnesota in 1973 and 1974, respectively and joined the Purdue faculty upon completing his doctorate on the West Lafayette campus in 1980. Before attending Purdue, he worked at Hewlett-Packard Corporation on NMOS process development and manufacturing. At Purdue, his research has explored solar cells, heterostructure devices, carrier transport physics, and the physics and technology of nanoscale devices. His current focus is on energy conversion devices such as solar cells and thermoelectric devices. In the 1990s, Lundstrom co-founded (with his colleagues, Nirav Kapadia and Jose Fortes, the PUNCH project, which provided online simulation services for research and education in micro and nanoelectronics. That work led to the NCN and, which now serves the nanotechnology community worldwide. He is the author of Fundamentals of Carrier Transport (2nd Ed., Cambridge, 2000) and Nanoscale Transistors: Device Physics, Modeling, and Simulation (Springer, 2005). Lundstrom is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), the American Physical Society, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). He has received several awards for his teaching and research, and is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s